Friday, 26 February 2010

V/A - Boogybytes Vol 05: Mixed by Seth Troxler (Bpitch Control)

Boogybytes Vol 05 is a brilliant house and techno compilation. Berlin based Seth Troxler has dreamt up a stunning collage of electronic ditties, where the parts fit together beautifully. Winners include Dinky’s woozy Arp-A-Pella of The Royal We’s acerbic Party Guilt, Richie Hawtin’s cutting edit of Spektrum’s filthy Freakbox and Nicolas Jaar’s touching Time For Us. Thoroughly absorbing from start to finish, Boogybytes Vol 05 is on the money.

Stanley Brinks - And The Wave Pictures (Ciao Ketchup)

Stanley Brinks was formerly Andre of Herman Dune and alone he still pulls the emotional punches. Well, to say he’s alone isn’t strictly true, as here he’s backed by The Wave Pictures, but the focus is on Stan’s enthralling songwriting that plays out over desolate guitars. Always at his best when he sounds broken hearted, check out the tear-stained Blues About The Size of Someone Else’s Heart, questioning 39 Winks and pained All The Love That Was Left. Brinks wears his emotions on his sleeve and few can match the heartfelt power of his songs.

Memory Tapes - Seek Magic (Something In Construction)

Memory Tapes doesn’t seek magic, but instead creates musical magic in the form of his enchanting compositions. MT’s feather light electronic grooves literally sparkle courtesy of cool musicality and deft vocal touches. Head for the urgent Bicycle, melancholic Stop Talking and ponderous Run Out. Seek Magic is a beguiling listen from start to finish.

V/A - The Kings of Drum + Bass: Compiled by 4 Hero & DJ Marky (BBE)

It is fitting that BBE chose 4 Hero and Brazil’s DJ Marky as compilers and mixers for The Kings of Drum + Bass. 4 Hero were early pioneers of the music before going onto change the face of other styles, whilst Marky has injected new life into the genre with his Latin flexed grooves. 4 Hero’s disc reflects their status as instigators of the scene and features classics such as Nasty Habits’ macabre Shadow Boxing and Nookie’s ravey Give A Little Love. Marky goes for an energetic selection that features winners such as Lynx & Maple’s gorgeous Shaku and Nu:Tone’s driving The Boy Who Lost His Smile. This compilation shows that both old and new D&B can still excite.

V/A - Voltt 2: Mixed by 2000 And One (100% Pure)

100% Pure boss 2000 And One brings us a technoid treat in the shape of the second Voltt compilation. 2000 And One presents cool display of techy tracks from big names and underground heroes that features lean mechanical efforts alongside rotund emotive numbers. Winners include Johnny D’s bouncing Point Of No Return, David Labeij’s sensuous Feel Like Doing and Luciano’s serene Conspirer. Voltt 2 is an electric selection of technoid material.

José James - Blackmagic (Brownswood)

A modern jazz singer at home with both traditional and nu-er forms of the music, James brings us his second LP. Alongside a host of electronic greats such as Flying Lotus and Moodymann, he has crafted an album of memorable jazzy gems that capture the imagination. Highs include the woozy Code, jolly Promise In Love and the yearning title track. Blackmagic is an enjoyable musical experience, courtesy of James’s distinctive voice and his hot musical backing.

Thursday, 25 February 2010

V/A - Ministry of Sound Club Presents SOS (MoS)

Ministry of Sound Club Presents is yet another compilation series from the London based dancerie and global brand. This series focuses squarely on the DJ (or DJs) in a similar way to the Sessions series and first up are Demi, Desyn and Omid ’16B’ aka SOS. Disc one is a quick fire mix CD of dreamy and techy material, featuring winners such as Steve Angello’s fine Isabel (SOS Edit) and Hardrive’s anthemic Deep Inside (SOS Edit). Disc two showcases a number of works from the SOS threesome alongside cuts from others and highs include Omid 16B’s trippy We Always Meet Again and Fred Falke’s twisting Back To Stay. MOS show that they still know what’s happening away from the pop dance world when it comes to compilations.

V/A - Bustin’ Out (Year Zero)

Subtitled New Wave To New Beat: the post punk era 1979 - 1981, this compilation explores the disparate directions in which music went after punk. Compiled by experienced spinner Mike Maguire and backed with extensive sleeve notes from hell raising journo Kris Needs, this broad based CD is an excellent testament to how exciting those times were. It features the melding of traffic light electronics with pained discordant vocals of Killing Joke’s Almost Red, to the vulnerable disco of Loose Joints’ Is It All Over My Face and the messy guitar work of Josef K’s Sorry For Laughing. Bustin’ Out is a great collection of multifaceted sombre yet thrilling music from the late 70s and early 80s.

V/A - Disco Love: Compiled by Al Kent (BBE)

Scottish disco aficionado Al Kent presents a treasure trove of undiscovered gems in the shape of this compilation. Glasgow based Kent has touched and re-edited the raft of earthy grooves and touching soul kissed gems that surface here. Winners include Black Rock’s dreamy New York City Bump, Tomorrow’s People’s grooving Let’s Get With The Beat and The Midas Touch’s glorious The Nightlife (Let’s Get It On). This collection appears in the form of a two disc set, a mixed version for those who want to revel in Kent’s deck skills, and an unmixed version for the more adventurous.

V/A - Nervous Nitelife: Tom Stephan (Nervous)

Tom Stephan aka Superchumbo has long been an advocate of tougher electronic sounds. Here, the NY born and London based DJ comes correct with a disc of relentless house and electro efforts, featuring angular beats, pronounced synthetics and prickly vocals. Check out the likes of DJ Chus’ sensuous revision of Deka & Dave Rose’s Lose Control, Mikix The Cat’s touch up of Rico Tubbs' filthy Born To Bounce and Tom Stephan’s own icy version of Oscar G feat. Tamara Wallace’s What You Need. Occupying a similar musical region to the tough and tribal sound spun by the likes of Junior Vasquez in 90s NY, this is music to keep you active during late nights.