Saturday, 21 June 2008

Magik Johnson – You Are Sound (Underwater)

Magik Johnson You Are Sound (Underwater)


This new album from ‘Magik’ Dick Johnson, which appears via Darren Emerson’s celebrated Underwater imprint packs a considerable musical punch. Mainly sticking to the house fields that he’s ploughed for a good long while, Johnson has included enough of a range of tracks to make You Are Sound hold the interest for longer than many other clubfloor albums. Killer cuts include the gutsy synth driven East West Connection, calming bass stormer Russendisko and a punishing effort entitled The Bushman. Admittedly, Johnson does best when he sticks to instrumental material, as most of the vocal tracks don’t really cut it, but there’s enough power on the clubby tracks to see him through.


No comments: