Sunday, 20 April 2008

Eva Be - Moving Without Traveling (Sonar Kollektiv)

Eva Be - Moving Without Traveling (Best Seven/Sonar Kollektiv)


Eva Be is a Berlin based artist who creates dubbed up, reggaed and soul-touched electronic efforts with her production partner Boris Meinhold. Moving Without Traveling features beautiful songs, spacey soundscapes and strange experimental episodes. It is proper songs like No Memory of Time, a delicate effort featuring Joe Dukie and She Walks Alone, a descriptive number penned with Pegah Ferydoni that make this album special. However, sanitised dubby efforts such as the didgeridoo laced Eve at Bob’s and heady Into My Blues are still worthy of a mention. Eva Be gives us a distinctly European take on dubby soundscapes, and mirroring the Best Seven Selections 2 compilation, the tracks with the most tenuous link to Jamaica are the strongest!


No comments: